Posted on November 8, 2017, by Bryan Zarpentine

Kansas City Royals Alex Gordon

Image via

Major League Baseball’s award season is in full following Tuesday’s announcement of the 2017 Gold Glove Awards. This year’s winners included an interesting combination of first-time winners and those who have consistently won the award. There are six players who won the first Gold Glove of their career. At the same time, there were three players who won the award for the fifth time and two more winning for the fourth time.

Among the five-time winners was Nolan Arenado of the Colorado Rockies. It was his fifth in a row, leaving no doubt that he’s the premier third baseman in baseball.

“It feels great,” said Arenado of his string of Gold Gloves. “Obviously, five is a pretty special number. Thank God I’ve been able to stay healthy and compete out there and do my job to help my team win. It means a lot. I want to try and win as many as I can and stay healthy.”

Sign up for a FREE Trial Consultation to start working with Legendary Sports Bettor Jon Price

It’s interesting to see how things have changed from last year to this year. In the National League, five of the nine winners also took home the Gold Glove last year. Meanwhile, in the American League, there was just one player, Mookie Betts, who also won the award in 2016. As a result, there American League saw four first-time winners.

Perhaps the most surprising winner was Cincinnati Reds catcher Tucker Barnhart. It’s not that Barnhart didn’t prove himself to be a reliable backstop this season, but it’s that he was able to beat out Yadier Molina and Buster Posey, the other finalists. Molina won eight straight Gold Gloves until last year when Posey beat him out. With Barnhart winning this year, it’s possible that Molina’s torch has officially been passed.

“It’s as good as it gets for me,” Barnhart said. “I’m a defense-first player, I take a lot of pride in that, and to be able to win it and beat out guys like Buster and Yadi, it’s incredibly special and something I’ll remember for the rest of my life.”

Also of note is Angels shortstop Andrelton Simmons, who won the Gold Glove twice as a member of the Braves in 2013 and 2014. He’s now only the third shortstop to win the award in both leagues, joining Omar Vizquel and Orlando Cabrera.

Here is the full list of 2017 Gold Glove winners:

American League

C: Martin Maldonado, Angels (1st Gold Glove)

1B: Eric Hosmer, Royals (4th Gold Glove)

2B: Brian Dozier, Twins (1st Gold Glove)

3B: Evan Longoria, Rays (3rd Gold Glove)

SS: Andrelton Simmons, Angels (3rd Gold Glove)

LF: Alex Gordon, Royals (5th Gold Glove)

CF: Byron Buxton, Twins (1st Gold Glove)

RF: Rookie Betts, Red Sox (2nd Gold Glove)

P: Marcus Stroman, Blue Jays (1st Gold Glove)

National League

C: Tucker Barnhart, Reds (1st Gold Glove)

1B: Paul Goldschmidt, Diamondbacks (3rd Gold Glove)

2B: D.J. LeMahieu, Rockies (2nd Gold Glove)

3B: Nolan Arenado, Rockies (5th Gold Glove)

SS: Brandon Crawford, Giants (3rd Gold Glove)

LF: Marcell Ozuna, Marlins (1st Gold Glove)

CF: Ender Inciarte, Braves (2nd Gold Glove)

RF: Jason Heyward, Cubs (5th Gold Glove)

P: Zack Greinke, Diamondbacks (4th Gold Glove)

The leading sports investment firm in the country